Answered Prayers

  prayer1As I am sitting here, drinking a tea, and taking in the noise and chaos of my surroundings, I think about all the different things I have to deal with, and take care of in my household. It is a lot but I am extremely blessed. You guys know that I have three boys and everyday there is something different that we encounter. Whether someone is acting up in school, spending time in timeout, or bouncing of the walls, I can’t help but to look back and think about how I prayed for boys. I remember praying before the ultrasound appointment that I had for the twins. I had asked God to please let them be boys. God knew my heart, he knew that I did not want a little girl who would have acted like I did as a little girl lol. In that appointment, God answered my prayers. The same thing happened when I was pregnant with my youngest. I prayed that God would give us another boy. I already had everything I needed from the twins. God did just that, he answered my prayers.

My husband is always making fun of me because he says that everything that I have prayed for, God has given to me. I have been truly blessed. Every job that I prayed for, God has given it to me. Whether it was praying for a place to live, cars, increase, a good school for our children, God truly showed up and showed out by answering my prayers. In realizing this, it immediately humbles me and reminds me not to complain about anything. Now, were these prayers answered immediately? NO! There were periods of time where it seemed like I waited forever. Did I get exactly what I asked for all the time? Nope! I ended up getting better than I imagined! What we envision for our lives doesn’t even come close to what God has in mind for us. I prayed for a certain job and was so down when I didn’t get it, even though I was more than qualified for it. God ended up giving me a position that was even better!

On the flip side, we must always remember that when we pray for something, we must also make sure that we are truly ready for what we prayed for. I prayed for boys, but did I really realize what that would entail? No! LOL. Did I really understand that there would be little to no quiet time? I do now. These scriptures mean so much to me, and if you are in the midst of waiting, I hope that you find comfort in them:

Mark 11:24 NIV:  Therefore I tell you, whatever you ask for in prayer, believe that you have received it, and it will be yours.

John 15:7 NIV: If you remain in me and my words remain in you, ask whatever you wish, and it will be done for you.

Matthew 7:7 NIV: Ask and it will be given to you; seek and you will find; knock and the door will be opened to you.

If you are still waiting for God to answer your prayers, consider this; he is getting ready to give you something better, or he is preparing you to receive what you have been praying for. We are not always in the position to be thankful and good stewards over what we are asking for, so God will wait until we are in the right position. Let’s be real, would we really appreciate the answered prayers and blessings if we didn’t have to wait and struggle a bit?

How good has God been to you? We would love to hear your testimonies!!

 

6 thoughts on “Answered Prayers

  1. Awesome! I knew God had me read this for a reason! Thanks. I am actually in my “waiting season” right now. This season has been a struggle and has been a little scary, but, the whole point of going through all of this is to Trust God. I don’t have a job right now, and I have been praying for one. I know that God would not just leave me in this season, and I know he has greater for me. I believe he is moving on my behalf, and also teaching me A LOT in this season.

    Like

Leave a Reply

